Yes or No? Yes and No! The Assumption and the Canannite Woman – A Reflection by Fran Rossi Szpylczyn

Dormition Abbey, Jerusalem, November 2004. Taken by me.

I was not going to post today but as I prayed earlier and as I got ready for work, the need to write about the Feast of the Assumption and/or yesterday’s Gospel about Jesus and the Canannite woman was persistent. It was even more pressing after finding these three thought provoking posts, one from Ginny Kubitz Moyer, one from Philomena Ewing (ok two from Phil, see this one also,) and one from Claire Bangasser.

Which brings me to a question I would simply like to pose for today… Yes or No? As usual, I go for the both/and approach and come up with Yes and No!

The Canaanite woman will not take no for an answer. She went to Jesus in good faith for healing for her daughter and was not going to go away quietly. Once again we meet a woman, not even a Jew, persistently going to Jesus for help. He is even pretty clear that she is not who he came to save!

She says – no, you must help me. Even the dogs get scraps!

Today we have another Marian feast to ponder, the Dormition of the Theotokos or what we Catholics call the Solemnity of the Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary.

Mary has not said no – in fact, she has said “yes.” It is Mary’s yes that changed the world!

What is it for you  in life – the Yes or the No?

We must exercise both? How does this work in your life? I hope you comment here; I’d love to know what you think.

2 Comments

Filed under Fran Rossi Szpylczyn, Mary Mother of God

2 responses to “Yes or No? Yes and No! The Assumption and the Canannite Woman – A Reflection by Fran Rossi Szpylczyn

  1. >>Dormition of the Theokos<< I'm thinking you mean "Theotokos" –just a slip of the keyboard there.It's always fun to use that name for Mary, to ask a group if Mary was truly Theotokos or was she Christotokos…opens all sorts of discussion.

  2. Thanks Shannon – it was my error!I like the Theotokos – Chrisotokos question!