Advent Reflection – December 22, 2013 – Fourth Sunday of Advent by Paula Thibault

o-come-emmanuel_blue_river_churchFrom Isaiah 7:10-14 we hear these words of Scripture today:

Therefore the Lord himself will give you a sign. Look, the young woman is with child and shall bear a son, and shall name him Immanuel.

Oh come, oh come, Emmanuel
And ransom captive Israel,
That mourns in lonely exile here
Until the Son of God appear.
Rejoice, Rejoice!
Emmanuel shall come to you, O Israel.

imagesDuring these days of preparing to celebrate Jesus’ birth and anticipating Jesus’ second coming, this wonderful song puts joy in my heart. It’s such a busy time of year: too much to do and not enough time to get it all done. I have to force myself to sit quietly and think on the words above from the prophet Isaiah. Who am I that the Lord will send his Son for me? What am I worth that God will sacrifice his only Son for me? The answers to these questions are powerful reminders of God’s love for me. In my own little way, I would like to imitate this vast love. And so I pray:

Oh come, oh come, Emmanuel
Fill my heart with your love.
Oh come, oh come, Emmanuel
Fill my heart with your love.
-Paula Thibault

Paula Thibault is a parishioner here at St. Edward the Confessor, active in several ministries.

1 Comment

Filed under Advent, Advent 2013

One response to “Advent Reflection – December 22, 2013 – Fourth Sunday of Advent by Paula Thibault

  1. Kathleen

    Beautiful! Thank you.