The loving father – by Madeline Longacker

MGK5000A“Ask and you shall receive, seek and you will find; knock and the door will be opened to you…As bad as you are, you know how to give good things to your children. How much more, then will your Father in heaven give good things to those who ask Him.” Mt 7:7-11

I was trying to imagine how I would react to this scripture if I heard these words from Jesus spoken to me for the first time. I think I would be grateful and relieved that I had a loving Father who wanted to be in a close relationship with me. I would be amazed that He wanted me to ask, seek and knock with all my needs and to persevere in the requests. I would also have been encouraged by the reminder that God is good and is always giving good gifts to His family.

I had received a holy picture card when I was in school that had this scripture on it. The words were so exciting because I could ask God for anything. The scripture remains powerful today because a relationship with the Father has grown through a very simple, childlike conversation with Him. He already knows all my needs, but He desires my expression of them. Turning to Him shows my love and trust in Him.

This conversation over time shows me how God responds to those prayers. Some I see answered right away, others take time, and others appear not to be answered the way I want them. Many times I would amazed with the gifts God gave that I didn’t even know I needed. This too seems to build the relationship. More and more I see these conversations are a sharing of our lives – mine with God and God with me.

When my children were grown and my mom was alive and living around the corner, we would visit often. We would have a cup of tea and talk about our lives. Before I left we would take time to pray and share with God all our concerns about family, friends, the world, and ourselves. My mother had a deep faith that God was her Father and that He cared about us and would help us. She was clear, persistent and had no problem telling God the outcome she would like. At the same time she surrendered these needs to the Father knowing that He would do what was best.

There were many prayers answered and much help given. When we were done praying I felt that a load had been taken off our shoulders. God had shared His peace and strength with us. My mother’s last words to me were “pray for the family”. We went through many heartaches and challenges after that. A few months ago I had a dream in which I heard knocking at the door and when I opened the door I saw my mom. She had a smile on her face and a tear in her eye. We hugged it was as if she was telling me that she knew what the family was going through. After the dream I felt the same peace that I felt in her apartment. I viewed the dream as the answering a need by the Father I didn’t even know I had.

Comments Off on The loving father – by Madeline Longacker

Filed under Lent, Lent 2015

Comments are closed.