“You will not have my hatred…” – a reference from Fr Pat’s Advent homily

o-ANTOINE-LEIRIS-ISIS-LETTER-facebookIf you heard Fr. Pat’s homily at 4pm on Saturday, and presumably on Sunday as well, he mentioned a man named Antoine Leiris whose wife Hélène Muyal was massacred at the Bataclan theatre in Paris during the recent terrorist attack. Fr. Pat spoke of this man’s letter to the terrorists, how would not into hate. What a powerful way to enter into the hope and anticipation of Advent.

If you want to see the video of his words, spoken by Leiris himself, it can be found at this link. The actual text, in French with an English translation, is on Leiris’ Facebook page, here.

1 Comment

Filed under Advent, Advent 2015

One response to ““You will not have my hatred…” – a reference from Fr Pat’s Advent homily

  1. Don Wilson

    Thanks Fran – I heard this this morning from Fr. Pat. – So powerful. I am truly humbled by Antoine’s message. I really don’t think I would be able to accomplish his emotion and summation and most of all “Forgiveness” Truly a soul to be respected.. Thanks again Fran. don