Lenten Prayer Resources

7056_ImportantUpdateIMPORTANT UPDATE… please take note!
It has come to my attention that even though Amazon is offering Not By Bread Alone. The page for the book says that it is out of stock, will ship later – but they are NOT selling the book. Please go to the Liturgical Press website to order!

That got me thinking, what if that is also the case for Sacred Space for Lent? It also shows as out of stock. Anyway, that can be ordered via the Loyola Press website.

If you visit the Ave Maria Press website you will find Sacred Reading for Lent and the Living Gospel.

And how could I have forgotten two important resources? I did! One is absolutely free – go to the USCCB Daily Readings page to sign up for an email of each day’s Scriptures. Video reflections are also offered and can be found here.

Last but not least, I highly recommend a subscription to Give Us This Day. Yes I have a bias, I do write for them, but before that day ever dawned, I was a charter subscriber. Go have a look at their subscription page, you can even request a free sample.

 

Lent-631x295While it was my hope to have had this post out earlier, here it is at last! Lent begins on February 10, a little more than two weeks away. As has been my custom, I would like to offer up some ideas for your Lenten prayers and reflection.

Sometimes we feel too busy for Lent, but most of these resources are small enough to put in a pocket or purse, and are short enough for brief periods of prayer. The idea is not to add stress, but to create spaces, however “small” they may seem, to invite the peace of God into our lives. At Lent we truly are on a “journey” through the desert, as we make our way towards Easter. It is good to have one or more resources to accompany us – maybe think of these books as road maps pointing us toward the Triduum.

In no particular order, I present to you::

Sacred Space
This small volume from the Irish Jesuits via Loyola Press remains a valuable guide to help us make our way through Lent. The book is set up in weekly chapters that take us on a path through the Scriptures, offering a very Jesuitical (is that a word? It is for the Ignatians among us!) way of reflection and prayer to guide you from Ash Wednesday to Easter.

The Living Gospel
This slim volume of daily Lenten reflections comes to us from author Charles Paolino via Ave Maria Press. Each day’s offering puts forth an opportunity to enter into a space of prayer, to read, reflect, and find ways to put our prayer into action.

Sacred Reading for Lent 2016
Another resource from publisher Ave Maria Press, this book is part of the Apostleship of Prayer, with Douglas Leonard. This book has a very Ignatian orientation, and it begins guiding the reader through that process. The Apostleship of Prayer is part of a papal worldwide prayer network and offers a lovely journey through Lent.

Our Lenten Journey of Love
This is a parish resource booklet from Twenty Third Publications by Alice Camille. Each page of this booklet invites to a thought or theme for the day based on Scripture, with an invitation to contemplation and prayer. The most “lightweight” materially, this book offers depth and wisdom. I’m not sure how easy it would be to get an individual copy, but get in touch with the publisher here.

Remember, Return, Rejoice
This book is written by Jo-Ann Iannotti, OP, who is on staff at Wisdom House in Litchfield, CT. The book is published under their imprint. This weekly journey through the season of Lent is quite thought provoking and uses reflections, poems, photographs, and art to guide us. This is less a “carry around” book as I see it, but its depth certainly brings with it an invitation to real Lenten change. I did not see it for sale on their shop page, but I think that you can order it this way.

Not By Bread Alone
This volume of daily Lenten reflections is published by Liturgical Press, and written by Mary DeTurris Poust, and published by Liturgical Press. There is no getting around it, I do have a favorite… This book has been it for years and years. It is small, yet it is wise and deep, and it always suits me, no matter who the author. On top of that, this year’s edition is brought to us by an author who I count as a favorite author – and a personal friend. Am I disposed to like this one even more now? I suppose I am, but that is simply the truth and I think I would say the same thing if I did not know Mary, or if I did not know that she was the author.

And don’t forget – we will be publishing Lenten reflections here at the blog, which we have done since Lent 2008! Please join us by reading and praying with us. If you think you would like to contribute, let me know. All are welcome!

 

Comments Off on Lenten Prayer Resources

Filed under Ash Wednesday, Lent, Lent 2016, Uncategorized

Comments are closed.